The Tier Two format of the New Zealand Water Polo National League (NZWPNL) was introduced in 2016. The format was successful in encouraging the development of a more comprehensive national competition.


Thirteen sides competed in the Tier Two Tournaments in Auckland and Wellington in 2016, creating a total of 21 sides in the National League.

May 8, 2018

After 2,5 days of competition in Lower Hutt, The Canterbury Men flew home to Christchurch with the tournament win. Within 5 games, Canterbury managed to score 90 goals, led by veteran and Christchurch stalwart Zoltan Boros (4 goals in the final). Canterbury managed to outplay Harbour City, with that team making a comeback to senior club level water polo after playing National League in 2015. Harbour City had a great run toward...

March 13, 2018

The New Zealand Water Polo National League (NZWPNL) started off for 2018 over the weekend with the first T2 tournament taking place in Tauranga, at the Baywave facility from the 9-11 March.

Tauranga 1 men finished their weekend strongly with a tie against Waikato, which resulted in TGA taking out the tournament win due to a better result against the third ranked team. The 10 all draw perfectly reflected the efforts from both te...

May 9, 2017

The New Zealand Water Polo National League (NZWPNL) kicked off for the season on the weekend with the first Tier Two tournament taking place for second division teams in Auckland.

Six teams competed in the three-day tournament, including Canterbury, WRAC Raptors from central Wellington, Palmerston North Pirates, Mountfort Park, Marist Masters, and Marist Blue.

The competition was tight with three quarters of the games being deci...

Please reload


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
NZWPNL supported by
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

© 2018 New Zealand Water Polo